martes, 5 de febrero de 2019

El arte de amar ovidio

Ars Amatoria” (“The Art of Love”) is a collection of 57 didactic poems (or, perhaps more accurately, a burlesque satire on didactic poetry) in three books by the Roman lyric poet Ovid, written in elegiac couplets and completed and published in 1 CE. The poem provides teaching in the areas of how and where to find women (and husbands) in Rome, how to seduce them and how to prevent others from stealing them.

Back to Top of Page
A very brief general summary of the three books of the “Ars Amatoria” may be listed as follows:



Part I: His task.
Part II: How to find her.
Part III: Search while you are out walking.
Part IV: At the theatre.
Part V: At the races or the circus.
Part VI: Triumphs are good too.
Part VII: At the dinner table.
Part VIII: At the beach.
Part IX: How to win her.
Part X: First secure the maid.
Part XI: Do not forget her birthday.
Part XII: Write and make promises.
Part XIII: Be whereever she is.
Part XIV: Look presentable.
Part XV: At dinner be bold.
Part XVI: Promise and deceive.
Part XVII: Tears, kisses and taking the lead.
Part XVIII: Be pale and be wary of your friends.
Part XIX: Be flexible.


Book 2:

Part I: His task.
Part II: You need gifts of mind.
Part III: Be gentle and good tempered.
Part IV: Be patient and comply.
Part V: Do not be faint-hearted.
Part VI: Win over the servants.
Part VII: Give her little tasteful gifts.
Part VIII: Favour her and compliment her.
Part IX: Comfort her in sickness.
Part X: Let her miss you (but not for too long).
Part XI: Have other friends (but be careful).
Part XII: On the use of aphrodisiacs.
Part XIII: Stir her jealousy.
Part XIV: Be wise and suffer.
Part XV: Respect her freedom.
Part XVI: Keep it secret.
Part XVII: Do not mention her faults.
Part XVIII: Never ask about her age.
Part XIX: Do not rush.
Part XX: The task is complete (for now...).

Book 3:

Part I: Now it is time to teach the girls.

Part II: Take care with how you look.

Part III: Taste and elegance in hair and dress.

Part IV: Make-up, but in private.

Part V: Conceal your defects.

Part VI: Be modest in laughter and movement.

Part VII: Learn music and read the poets.

Part VIII: Learn dancing and games.

Part IX: Be seen around.

Part X: Beware of false lovers.

Part XI: Take care with letters.

Part XII: Avoid the vices, favour the poets.

Part XIII: Try young and older lovers.

Part XIV: Use jealousy and fear.

Part XV: Play cloak and dagger.

Part XVI: Make him believe he is loved.

Part XVII: Watch how you eat and drink.

Part XVIII: And so to bed....


Back to Top of Page